This site uses Cookies. By using the site you accept our usage of Cookies. Dismiss More info

EuroMAP, UMATI, TMC, UA Robotics and PackML with PLC Engine Collect

Overview: What it is. Goal. Who does it make. How does it work. Application scenarios. Diagnostics, Machine operations

What are EuroMAP, UMATI, TMC, UA Robotik, PackML and MachineVision

EuroMAP is a standard in the focus for the plastics and rubber industry. Corresponding machines and plants are common, an example is the tire industry.
Current versions are basing on OPC UA.
There are different specifications that all complement each other.
In 2019 EuroMAP 77, 82 and 83 are current.

Logo Euromap
UMATI stands for Universal Machine Tool Interface.
The idea did come from VDW (Verein Deutscher Werkzeugmaschinenfabriken [Association of German Machine Tool Factories]), a German industrial organization.
A neutral interface to current IT systems is provided.
Logo UMATI
PackML is a standard for the packaging industry. It is a neutral interface for packaging machines solid.
The organization OMAC (Organization for Machine Automation and Control) supervises the standard.
The standard also defines OEE functions.
Logo Pack ML
TMC stands for Tobacco Machine Communication.
Contributors are
  • Japan Tobacco International
  • British American Tobacco
  • Imperial Tobacco Group
  • Philip Morris International
(no logo)
UA Robotics defines neutral interfaces to industrial robots in production environments.
It comes from a working group of VDMA and the OPC Foundation.
Logo UA Robotics
MachineVision merges the image and pattern recognition for machines.
Behind this there are several associations:
  • AIA (Automated Imaging Association) organization and manufacturer Cognex
  • The German industry association VDMA with VDMA MV (Machine Vision)
  • EMVA (European Machine Vision Association)
  • CMVU (China Machine Vision Union)
  • JIIA (Japan Industrial Imaging Association)
Logo Machine Vision

In this article all these things are called "UA industry standard". Within the framework of Industry 4.0, such neutral interfaces are important.

The objectives of these UA industry standards

Maschine Information Modell

The main objective is a standardized handling of all requirements from the point of view of communication and configuration for the machines. In the context of industry 4.0 it is particularly important to have common interfaces. This concerns the connection to superimposed systems such as production planning. It also covers machine operation.
These things are offered:

With these interfaces it is easy and well standardized to set up operating panels, for example. The connection to superimposed production planning systems such as MES and ERP becomes easier, ideally it is always the same.
The SCADA manufacturers are also on board. In the market, however, it is evident that rather newer - often web-based - systems are open for these standards. More and more SCADA manufacturers offer standard operating pages that are quickly adapted to a machine.
Mobile operating devices play out their strengths with it, they only use the web browser. Individual app developments are no longer necessary.
It is also important that the learning effort for operating the machines is reduced. The same operation for machines with similar tasks achieves this.

Who is behind these standards

These are all well-known manufacturers and users of machines. The industry association VDMA implements this together with the suppliers of machines, IT companies and system integrators. In addition, the OPC Foundation is involved and all standards are also available there. There are efforts to coordinate the standards with suppliers from other regions of the world.

How it works

Many - if not all - machines have very similar tasks in common. In plastics machines there are often heating zones, pressing zones, cooling zones. A heating zone has one or more temperature curves. Of course, there can be several heating zones. This also applies to all other data and structures offered. EuroMAP knows such a model for a heating zone. This model is used several times for several heating zones - the technician says "derived" or "instanced". The basic data of a heating zone with all details is described in EuroMAP. Of course not all these elements have to be used, this is determined during the setup at the machine builder. Different conditions occur during the running time of the machine. For all these conditions there are reporting elements (events), status elements and also error elements. With this exact definition, a simple and standardized data transfer between the machine parts and the rest of the system is much easier than before.

Overview Machine Information Model

It is also possible to simply transfer many production jobs to one machine. These are then processed one after the other. Job management is a function of most UA industry standards. For example, night shifts without personnel are relatively easy to implement.

How it works with PLC Engine Collect

With the Tani PLC Engine Collect, you can easily and cost-effectively bring these UA industry standards into your machine. The OPC page shows the complete industry standard. On the machine side, the normal and previously available things are used. The Tani PLC Engine Collect takes over the functions required by the UA industry standard.

Variables, functions and events used via OPC can be used in several ways:

Even large tasks can be easily realized in this way. An intervention in the control program is rarely or never necessary.

Application Scenarios

The UA industry standard can in principle be programmed directly into the machine. However, it is often easier to select standard controls and machine elements. In the machine, these are standard variable speed drives and standard controls and marketable sensors. The Tani solution is designed precisely for this. The PLC Engine Collect product with logic tables, which has been on the market for some time, converts the structures and functions available in the OPC UA Server to the machine\'s controls and sensors. Since PLC Engine Collect directly supports all commercially available controllers, existing and older systems can also be extended without any problems. This consistently brings the industry standard to the plant.

Diagnostics for commissioning

Tani attaches great importance to diagnostics in order to simplify the commissioning of the machine. This simplifies troubleshooting even when the machine is at a standstill.
A quick way is to display all elements of the affected machine part. The descriptive names of the elements make it easier to quickly view the correct elements. In addition, for each element it is indicated when the value was last changed. For events, the last occurrence is also displayed.
For effects that only occur at runtime, PLC Engine provides Collect Logger. This means that all sequences can optionally be written. For better limitation, only certain program parts can be logged. There is also a logger output command in the logic tables that only comes when called.

Machine Operations

This is a core goal of UMATI. The other UA industry standards, however, also contain precise interfaces that simplify neutral operation. Modern SCADA and visualization systems support OPC UA. The Tani OPC UA Tunnel converts older OPC DA programs to OPC UA free of charge. This means that SCADA systems that have existed for a long time can continue to be used.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies. Mit der weiteren Nutzung der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Ausblenden Mehr Informationen

EuroMAP, UMATI, TMC, UA Robotics und PackML mit PLC Engine Collect

Übersicht: Was ist das. Ziele. Wer steckt dahinter. Wie funktioniert das. Einsatzszenarien. Diagnosen, Maschinenbedienungen

Was sind EuroMAP, UMATI, TMC, UA Robotik, PackML und MachineVision

EuroMAP ist ein Standard im Schwerpunkt für die Kunststoff und Gummiindustrie. Entsprechende Maschinen und Anlagen sind häufig, ein Beispiel ist die Reifenindustrie.
Die aktuellen Versionen basieren auf OPC UA.
Es gibt unterschiedliche Spezifikationen die sich alle ergänzen.
Im Jahr 2019 sind EuroMAP 77, 82 und 83 aktuell.

Logo Euromap
UMATI steht für Universal Machine Tool Interface.
Die Idee stamt von der VDW (Verein Deutscher Werkzeugmaschinenfabriken) Organisation.
Es wird eine neutrale Schnittstelle zu aktuellen IT Systemen geboten.
Logo UMATI
PackML ist ein Standard für die Verpackungsindustrie. Es ist eine neutrale Schnittstelle für Verpackungsmaschinen fest.
Die Organisation OMAC (Organization for Machine Automation and Control) betreut den Standard.
Der Standard legt auch OEE Funktionen fest.
Logo Pack ML
TMC steht für Tobacco Machine Communication.
Dieser Standard wird wie der Name das bereits sagt in der Tabakindustrie eingesetzt. Unterstützer sind
  • Japan Tobacco International
  • British American Tobacco
  • Imperial Tobacco Group
  • Philip Morris International
(kein Logo)
UA Robotics legt neutrale Schnittstellen zu Robotern fest.
Es stammt von einer Arbeitsgruppe von VDMA und der OPC Foundation.
Logo UA Robotics
MachineVision führt die Bild und Mustererkennung für Maschinen zusammen.
Dahinter stecken mehrere Vereinigungen
  • AIA (Automated Imaging Association) Organisation und der Hersteller Cognex
  • Der Industrieverband VDMA mit VDMA MV (Machine Vision)
  • EMVA (European Machine Vision Association)
  • CMVU (China Machine Vision Union)
  • JIIA (Japan Industrial Imaging Association)
Logo Machine Vision

In diesen Artikel werden alle diese Dinge "UA erweiterter Industriestandard" genannt. Im Rahmen von Industrie 4.0 sind solche neutralen Schnittstellen wichtig.

Die Ziele dieser UA Industriestandards

Maschine Information Model

Das Hauptziel ist eine standardisierte Behandlung aller Anforderungen die aus Sicht der Kommunikation und Konfiguration für die Maschinen. Im Rahmen von Industrie 4.0 ist es besonders wichtig gemeinsame Schnittstellen zu haben. Das betrifft die Anbindung an überlagerte Systeme wie Produktionsplanungen. Es deckt auch die Maschinenbedienung mit ab.
Diese Dinge werden angeboten:

Es ist mit diesen Schnittstellen z.B. einfach und gut standardisiert Bedienpanels einzurichten. Die Anbindung an überlagerte Produktionsplanungssysteme wie MES und ERP wird einfacher, im Idealfall ist sie immer gleich.
Die SCADA Hersteller sind auch im Boot. Im Markt zeigt es sich das aber eher neuere - oft webbasierende - Systeme für diese Standards offen sind. Immer mehr SCADA Hersteller bieten Standard Bedienseiten die schnell an eine Maschine angepasst sind.
Mobile Bediengeräte spielen ihre Stärken damit aus, sie nutzen nur den Webbrowser. Individuelle App Entwicklungen entfallen..
Wichtig ist das auch der Lernaufwand zur Bedienung der Maschinen sinkt. Eine gleiche Bedienung für Maschinen mit ähnlichen Aufgaben erreicht das.

Wer steckt hinter diesen Standards

Das sind alle namhaften Hersteller und Nutzer von Maschinen. Der Industrieverband VDMA setzt das gemeinsam mit den Anbietern von Maschinen, IT Firmen und Systemintegratoren um. Zusätzlich ist die OPC Foundation eingebunden, alle Standards sind auch dort verfügbar. Es gibt Bestrebungen mit Anbietern anderer Weltregionen die Standards abzustimmen.

Funktionsweise

Vielen - wenn nicht allen - Maschinen ist gemeinsam sehr ähnliche Aufgaben zu haben. In Kunststoffmaschinen gibt häufig Heizzonen, Preßzonen, Abkühlzonen. Eine Heizzone hat einen oder mehrere Temperaturverläufe. Natürlich kann es mehrere Heizzonen geben. Das gilt auch für alle anderen angebotenen Daten und Strukturen. EuroMAP kennt so ein Modell für eine Heizzone. Dieses Modell wird für mehrere Heizzonen einfach mehrfach verwendet - der Techniker sagt "abgeleitet" oder "instanziert". Die Basisdaten einer Heizzone mit allen Details ist in EuroMAP beschrieben. Natürlich müssen nicht alle diese Elemente auch verwendet werden, das wird beim Einrichten beim Maschinenbauer festgelegt. Zur Laufzeit der Maschine treten unterschiedliche Bedingungen ein. Für alle diese Bedingungen gibt es Meldeelemente (Events), Statuselemente und auch Fehlerelemente. Mit dieser genauen Festlegung ist eine einfache und standardisierte Datenübergabe zwischen den Maschinenteilen und der Rest der Anlage deutlich einfache als bisher.

Übersicht Maschine Informationsmodell

Es können auch einfach mehrere Produktionsjobs an eine Maschine übergeben werden. Diese werden dann nacheinander abgearbeitet. Die Jobverwaltung ist eine Funktion vieler UA Industriestandards. So sind z.B. Nachtschichten ohne Personal relativ einfach umsetzbar.

Funktionsweise mit Tani PLC Engine Collect

Mit der Tani PLC Engine Collect bringen Sie kostengünstig und einfach diese UA Industriestandards in Ihre Maschine. Auf der OPC Seite wird der Industriestandard komplett abgebildet. Auf der Maschinenseite werden die ganz normalen und auch bisher verfügbaren Dinge genutzt. Die Tani PLC Engine Collect übernimmt die Funktionen die der UA Industriestandard erfordert.

Variablen, Funktionen und Ereignisse die über OPC gebraucht werden können Sie auf mehrere Weisen nutzen:

Auch große Aufgaben können so einfach realisiert werden. Ein Eingriff in das Programm der Steuerung ist selten oder nie notwendig.

Einsatzszenarien

Der UA Industriestandard kann im Prinzip direkt in die Maschine einprogrammiert werden. Häufig ist es aber einfacher marktgängige Steuerungen und standard Maschinenelemente zu wählen. In der Maschine sind das dann Standard Regelantriebe und Standard Steuerungen und marktgängige Sensoren. Die Tani Lösung ist genau dafür gebaut. Das seit längerer Zeit am Markt befindliche Produkt PLC Engine Collect mit den Logiktabellen setzt die im OPC UA Server vorhandenen Strukturen und Funktionen auf die Steuerungen und Sensoren der Maschine um. Da PLC Engine Collect alle marktgängigen Steuerungen direkt unterstützt können auch existierende und ältere Anlagen problemlos erweitert werden. Das bringt durchgängig den Industriestandard an die Anlage.

Diagnosen für die Inbetriebnahme

Tani legt sehr viel Wert auf Diagnosen um die Inbetriebnahme der Maschine zu vereinfachen. Das erleichtert auch im Stillstandsfall die Fehlersuche.
Ein schneller Weg ist es alle Elemente des betroffenen Maschinenteils anzuzeigen. Die sprechenden Namen der Elemente erleichtern es schnell die richtigen Elemente zu betrachten. Zusätzlich wird bei jedem Element angegeben wann der Wert die letzte Änderung erfahren hat. Bei Ereignissen wird ebenfalls das letzte Vorkommen angezeigt.
Für Effekte die erst zur Laufzeit auftreten stellt PLC Engine Collect Logger bereit. Damit können wahlweise alle Abläufe mitgeschrieben werden. Zum besseren Eingrenzen können auch nur bestimmte Programmteile mitgeloggt werden. Es gibt auch einen Logger Ausgabebefehl in den Logiktabellen der nur dann kommt wenn er gerufen wird.

Maschinenbedienungen

Das ist ein Kernziel von UMATI. Die anderen UA Industriestandards enthalten aber auch genaue Schnittstellen die eine neutrale Bedienung vereinfachen. Moderne SCADA und Visualisierungssysteme unterstützen OPC UA. Ältere OPC DA Programme setzt der Tani OPC UA Tunnel kostenfrei auf OPC UA um. So können auch seit langem bestehende SCADA Systeme weiter genutzt werden.